How to Get Free Credit Monitoring in 2026
Reviewed · Updated
Not legal or financial advice. Identity theft protection services reduce risk; they do not prevent all fraud.
Quick answer: Yes, you can get credit monitoring for free. Experian and TransUnion each watch their own report for free, and Credit Karma and CreditWise watch two bureaus each. All three reports are free every week at AnnualCreditReport.com (checked 10/09/2026). Pay only if you want three-bureau alerts, insurance and recovery help in one place.
- Free: Experian and TransUnion each monitor their own report at no cost, and Credit Karma and CreditWise watch two bureaus each (checked 10/09/2026).
- Free by law: weekly reports from all three bureaus at AnnualCreditReport.com, and a credit freeze that costs nothing to place or lift.
- What they ask: AnnualCreditReport.com wants your name, address, date of birth and SSN, per the FTC. CreditWise needs an SSN that matches your TransUnion file.
- Pay when you want all three bureaus in one app plus insurance and recovery help. Aura’s Individual plan was $144/yr on 10/09/2026.
What free credit monitoring does (and what it can’t)
Credit monitoring watches your credit report and tells you when something changes. The FTC lists the usual alerts: a new account in your name, a change of address, a payment more than 30 days late, a bankruptcy, a lien or a foreclosure.
It doesn’t block anything. An alert comes after a lender has already pulled or reported something. To stop new accounts from being opened, you need a credit freeze, and that’s free too. If someone has already used your identity, start at IdentityTheft.gov, the FTC’s free reporting site.
There are three nationwide credit bureaus: Equifax, Experian and TransUnion. Each keeps its own file on you, and the FTC notes each may get its information from different sources. That’s why the number of bureaus a free tool watches matters more than its app.
Step 1: Do it yourself for free
I didn’t open accounts for this guide. Each free option has to match you to a real credit file, and this site doesn’t put a real Social Security number into test accounts. What I checked on 10/09/2026 is each service’s own page and the FTC’s guidance.
Check all three reports every week at AnnualCreditReport.com
AnnualCreditReport.com is the one site authorized to fill the free reports you’re entitled to by federal law. The three bureaus created it. There’s no subscription, and checking your reports there doesn’t affect your credit scores.
The weekly schedule is now permanent. The FTC says all three bureaus permanently extended free weekly reports, on top of the free yearly copy federal law requires. You’ll give your name, address, SSN and date of birth, and answer a few questions only you would know.
This is monitoring you do by hand. Nothing alerts you, so set a reminder and pull one bureau at a time if weekly feels like too much.
Freeze your credit at all three bureaus
A freeze does what monitoring can’t: while it’s on, nobody can open a new credit account in your name. The FTC says it costs nothing to place or lift and doesn’t affect your score. Federal law, 15 U.S.C. §1681c-1(i), requires each bureau to place it free of charge within 1 business day of an online or phone request.
You place it with each bureau separately. Lift it at the bureau your lender uses before you apply for a loan, a card or an apartment, then put it back. The freeze and paid credit locks aren’t the same thing, which credit lock vs. credit freeze explains.
Turn on the bureaus’ own free alerts
Experian and TransUnion each offer a free account that monitors their own file. Experian’s page says the free account includes credit monitoring with real-time alerts and a FICO Score, with no credit card required. Its three-bureau report and identity theft features are part of a paid membership.
TransUnion’s free account gives a daily VantageScore 3.0, a daily TransUnion report and alerts on critical changes. Its FAQ says you don’t need to supply a credit card. It also says the free plan doesn’t include identity monitoring.
Equifax is different. Its free Equifax Core Credit page promises a daily VantageScore 3.0 and your Equifax report, with no credit card. Monitoring is described under the paid Equifax Complete, at $9.95/mo on 10/09/2026. I couldn’t find a description of free Equifax alerts on Equifax’s site on 10/09/2026.
Or let a free app watch two bureaus at once
Credit Karma monitors your TransUnion and Equifax reports for free and alerts you when they change. It doesn’t watch Experian. It also shows data breach alerts and your credit lock status at those two bureaus.
Capital One’s CreditWise alerts on TransUnion and Experian, and adds an alert if your SSN or email shows up on the dark web. Its FAQ says anybody over 18 can enroll, even without a Capital One account. You need an SSN that matches a TransUnion credit profile.
Credit Karma and Experian’s free account together cover all three bureaus. That’s the closest free match to three-bureau monitoring I found.
| Free option | Bureaus watched | Alerts | Score shown | Card asked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AnnualCreditReport.com | All 3, reports you pull | None | None | No |
| Experian free account | Experian | Yes, real-time | FICO Score | No |
| TransUnion free account | TransUnion | Yes, critical changes | VantageScore 3.0 | No |
| Equifax Core Credit | Equifax report, no alerts described | Not on the free page | VantageScore 3.0 | No |
| Credit Karma | TransUnion, Equifax | Yes | Scores from both | Not stated |
| CreditWise (Capital One) | TransUnion, Experian | Yes, plus SSN dark web | FICO Score 8 | Not stated |
If you’re active duty or in the National Guard
You’re owed free monitoring by law. Under 15 U.S.C. §1681c-1(k), each bureau must provide free electronic credit monitoring to active duty servicemembers and National Guard members who send proof of status. The FTC says it started on 10/31/2019. Sign up with each of the three bureaus.
If the option isn’t there
Free tools need a credit file to watch. CreditWise says some alerts may not work if your details don’t match a bureau’s file, or if you don’t have one. If an app can’t find you, the weekly reports and a freeze still work.
If a company that lost your data offers free monitoring in its breach letter, check which bureaus it covers and when it ends. The FTC warns that only AnnualCreditReport.com fills the free reports the law gives you, and copycat sites use “free” in their names.
Step 2: When doing it yourself isn’t enough
The free route has real gaps. Each bureau’s own account watches one file, and the free apps watch two. Covering all three means two apps and three logins. Equifax alerts weren’t described on its free page.
None of the free options I checked includes identity theft insurance or a person who helps you clean up after fraud. They also make money from offers. Experian’s page pitches a paid membership, and TransUnion’s lists card offers through Bankrate.
Paying doesn’t spare you the data requests. Any monitoring service has to match you to your credit file, free or paid. So the real difference is convenience, insurance and help after a theft.
Step 3: Use one service that does it for you
If you want all three bureaus in one app with insurance and recovery help, I’d look at Aura first. All of its adult plans list “3-Bureau Credit Monitoring.” The Individual plan was $12/mo billed annually, $144/yr, or $15 billed monthly on 10/09/2026. Every plan starts with a 14-day free trial.
Aura describes the feature as inquiry alerts across Equifax, TransUnion and Experian. Its credit lock covers Experian only. The monthly credit score is a VantageScore from Equifax data, which Aura says is for educational purposes.
Aura calls its alerts “the fastest.” Footnote 3 says that comes from a 2025 study by ath Power Consulting, which Aura paid. The same footer says, “No one can prevent all identity theft or monitor all transactions effectively.”
What the free route lacks is in the plan. Every adult on a plan is backed by a $1,000,000 identity theft insurance policy, underwritten by American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida. Its limits and exclusions are in the policy summary, which the Aura review walks through.
Create your account
Aura’s first sign-up step asks only for your email. The summary next to it showed $144.00 billed yearly, “Pay $0 now” and the 14-day trial. Aura says the free trial can be redeemed once and that full access depends on identity verification and credit eligibility.
Start the trial on Aura’s site:
Try Aura for 14 daysAffiliate link · how it works →
The next steps are name, address, details and payment. In our 10/08/2026 run, Aura asked for a home address “to verify your identity,” and I stopped there. I didn’t see the details and payment steps, so I can’t say whether Aura asks for your SSN there.
Neither the pricing page nor the enrollment summary states the renewal price. Annual plans can be refunded within 60 days, by phone. Prices and cancellation steps are in what Aura actually charges.
If you’d rather use another service
LifeLock is the other paid option on this site. On 10/08/2026, LifeLock Core was $124.99/yr with credit monitoring at two bureaus. Its trial needs a card and your SSN, as covered in is LifeLock free and the LifeLock review. Equifax Complete, Equifax’s own paid plan, was $9.95/mo on Equifax’s site.
| Service | Our score | Bureaus monitored | Free trial | Lowest 1-year price | Data asked | Support (ET) | Reviewed on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LifeLock | 8.1/10 | 2 on Core | 30 days | $124.99/yr | email, phone number, last 4 digits of SSN (phone-width checkout) or full SSN and date of birth (manual entry), name and address, card | 24/7 per LifeLock contact page | 10/08/2026 |
| Aura | 7.0/10 | 3: Equifax, Experian, TransUnion | 14 days | $144/yr | email, name, home address (to verify identity), later steps not seen: Details and Payment | 24/7 per Aura contact page | 10/08/2026 |
Is paying worth it for you? Compare the paid services on the best credit monitoring services page, ranked by our methodology, and see how each checkout shows its price in the US Privacy Checkout Test.
If your identity has already been used, start with what to do if your identity is stolen. For the law behind it, read is identity theft a federal crime, and for leaked data, dark web monitoring.
What we checked
- Free options, read and captured 10/09/2026: AnnualCreditReport.com, Experian's free account page, TransUnion's free credit monitoring page, Equifax Core Credit, Credit Karma's credit monitoring page, Capital One CreditWise and its FAQ. No free account opened: each asks for a Social Security number, and this site doesn't use a real SSN in test accounts
- Government sources, read 10/09/2026: FTC Free Credit Reports (updated June 2026), FTC Credit Freezes and Fraud Alerts (updated August 2025), FTC alert on free monitoring for the military (10/31/2019), 15 U.S.C. §1681c-1 on Cornell's Legal Information Institute
- Aura: pricing page and the Individual enrollment captured 10/09/2026, up to the email step. On 10/08/2026 our Aura run reached the home address step, stopped there; details and payment steps not seen
- Checkout: Aura's enrollment summary showed $144.00 billed yearly and $0 due today for a 14-day trial; renewal price not shown, sales tax not shown
- Support: one question emailed to support@aura.com on 10/08/2026 at 2:44 p.m. ET — no reply when this page was written
- User reports: none used. Reddit blocked our connection and Trustpilot served a verification page on 10/09/2026
- Where the run stopped: desk review of the free options (no accounts opened: each asks for an SSN); Aura enrollment seen to the email step on 10/09/2026, to the address step on 10/08/2026
FAQ
Is there really free credit monitoring?
Yes. Experian and TransUnion each run a free account that watches their own report and sends alerts, and both pages say no credit card is needed (checked 10/09/2026). Credit Karma and Capital One's CreditWise are free and watch two bureaus each. Each one has to match you to your credit file, so expect identity questions at sign-up.
Which free credit monitoring covers all three bureaus?
None of the free options I checked on 10/09/2026 covers all three on its own. Credit Karma watches TransUnion and Equifax, so pairing it with Experian's free account covers the three. You can also pull all three reports for free every week at AnnualCreditReport.com.
Is Experian credit monitoring free?
Experian's free account monitors your Experian report and shows a FICO Score, with no credit card required, according to its page on 10/09/2026. Three-bureau reports and Experian's identity theft features sit in its paid membership. Experian's free monitoring doesn't watch Equifax or TransUnion.
Is free credit monitoring enough to stop identity theft?
No. Monitoring tells you about a change after it shows up on your report. A credit freeze is what stops new accounts, and the FTC says it costs nothing to place or lift. Even Aura's pricing page says no one can prevent all identity theft.
Can military members get free credit monitoring?
Yes. Federal law, 15 U.S.C. §1681c-1(k), requires Equifax, Experian and TransUnion to give active duty servicemembers and National Guard members free electronic credit monitoring. The FTC says it started on 10/31/2019. You sign up with each bureau and send proof of active duty status.
Does checking my credit monitoring hurt my score?
No. Checking your own reports and scores is a soft check. AnnualCreditReport.com says checking your reports there won't affect your credit scores, and CreditWise and Equifax say the same about their tools (checked 10/09/2026).